Rose and the Burma Sky

Book “Rose and the Burma Sky” by Rosanna Amaka — February 9, 2023

Book formats

  • Hardcover Out of stock

Book short specifications

Author
Pages
360
Publisher
Doubleday
Language
english
Release date
February 9, 2023
ISBN
9780857526731
GTIN
9780857526731
Weight, g
500
Publisher's website
penguin.co.uk

About

For fans of Yaa Gyasi, Esi Edugyan and James Baldwin — Visceral and inimate historical novel of a black soldier's experience in the Second World War — a rare, moving and authentic tale of love and war by the acclaimed British-Nigerian author of THE BOOK OF ECHOES.

ONE WAR, ONE SOLDIER, ONE LOVE

Perched high up in a mango tree in the heart of their village, Obi and friends like to peer down at the grown-ups. In the distance, the colonial army recruiters loiter on the road, buttons and boots shining in the sun. The military, with its promise of land for anyone who joins, sounds like respectable employement for Obi, who is keen to impress his sweetheart, Rose.

Years later, when she falls pregnant to another man, his young heart is shattered. As the Burma Campaign mounts, and Obi is shipped out to fight, he is haunted by the mystery of Rose's lover. When his identity comes to light, Obi's devastation leads to a tragic — and wholly unforeseeable — chain of events.

In ROSE AND THE BURMA SKY, Rosana Amaka weaves the horrors of war, the pain of unrequited love and the possibility that following your heart might not always be the best course of action. Its gritty boy's-eye view brings a spare and impassioned intensity, charging it with universal resonance and power.